WVEL Sports Scope: 2018 Indianapolis Colts Preseason Football Schedule

(Photo By Flickr User H-J doeh)

 

The first time new head coach Frank Reich will be on the sidelines will take place in Seattle, WA during the Colts’ preseason opener.

The team’s 2018 preseason schedule with dates and times has been finalized.

The Indianapolis Colts’ 2018 preseason opponents is as followed:

Thursday, August 9th – at Seattle, 10pm ET/9pm CT

Monday, August 20th – Baltimore, 8pm ET/7pm CT

Saturday, August 25th – San Francisco, 4:30pm ET/3:30pm CT

Thursday, Aug. 30 – at Cincinnati 7pm ET/6pm CT

The first game at Lucas Oil Stadium will be under the lights on Monday Night Football against the Baltimore Ravens.

Colts @ Seahawks:
The Seahawks finished last season 9-7, good enough for second place in the NFC West Division, though they did not qualify for the playoffs for the first time since 2011. They did defeat the Colts, 46-18, in Week 4 play at CenturyLink Field, however. In that game, Indianapolis actually led at halftime, 15-10, before seeing Seattle go on a 36-3 run the rest of the way.

Colts vs. Ravens:

The Ravens also had a 9-7 record last season and finished in second place in the AFC North Division. They looked poised to earn their first playoff berth in three seasons when they led the Cincinnati Bengals late in their Week 17 matchup, but saw Cincinnati score a 49-yard, game-winning touchdown in the final seconds to fall, 31-27.

The Colts also took on the Ravens last season, falling in Baltimore, 23-16, in Week 16. Indianapolis got inside the red zone on its final possession as it looked for a game-tying touchdown and extra point to force overtime, but would turn the ball over on downs.

Colts vs. 49ers:

The Colts defeated the 49ers, 26-23, in an overtime thriller Week 5 at Lucas Oil Stadium last season, as Adam Vinatieri would connect on a 51-yard, game-winning field goal to send the Colts fans home a happy bunch after seeing legendary quarterback Peyton Manning join Ring of Honor, as well as have his No. 18 retired, in a halftime ceremony that afternoon.

Colts at Bengals:

The Bengals had a 7-9 record in 2017, finishing in third place in the AFC North. They did, however, defeat the Colts, 24-23, in Week 8 last season, as Indy could not hold on to a 23-17 fourth quarter lead after seeing Cincinnati’s Carlos Dunlap intercept quarterback Jacoby Brissett and return it 16 yards for the eventual game-winning touchdown. 

The annual Colts/Bengals preseason finale will come with 75-man rosters, as final roster cuts down to 53 players occur after Week Four. Since 2001, the Colts and Bengals have met in every preseason, normally in the final week. Indianapolis won against Cincinnati 7-6 for the preseason finale on last year to have a 2-2 record and the Indy/Cincy game series tied at 8 a-piece.

To get more information, news & notes, and details for this 2018 Indianapolis Colts football season, log on to www.colts.com, right now!! GO HORSE!!

(Information Courtesy Of WIXN-TV & colts.com)